39 Search Results for: Ministry of the Attorney General


  • Directors and Officers

    Directors & Officers Directors Heidi Bohaker, Associate Professor University of Toronto, History Department Bevan Brooksbank, Borden Ladner Gervais Shantona Chaudhury, Pape Chaudhury LLP David Chernos, Chernos Flaherty Svonkin LLP Paul Davis, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein Doug Downey,ex officio, Attorney General for Ontario Timothy Hill,  Assistant Crown Attorney Ian Hull, Hull & Hull Trisha Jackson, Tory’s… Read more »

  • page

  • Books

    The Publishing Programme Osgoode Society Books We publish books that conform to high standards of scholarship and are also interesting to our many members in the legal profession and to the general public. We strive to achieve readability, interest and good scholarship. Most of our books are published with the University of Toronto Press, although… Read more »

  • author

  • Anthony Adamson (1906 – 2002)

    Anthony Patrick Cawthra Adamson was a leading expert in Ontario’s architectural heritage. He began his career as an architect, but proceeded to work as a professor at the University of Toronto (1955-1965), a town planner and a municipal reeve for the Township of Toronto (now Mississauga). He was the chief designer of Upper Canada Village… Read more »

  • author

  • John D. Honsberger

    Mr. Honsberger combines the practice of law, which is focused on bankruptcy and insolvency law, with writing in different areas of law, including its history and the legal profession. He was the founding and only editor of the Law Society of Upper Canada Gazette. In 1985 he was a first recipient of the Law Society… Read more »

  • author

  • Marion MacRae

    Marion MacRae was a leading architectural and design historian known particularly for series of books on the history of architecture in Ontario written in collaboration with Anthony Adamson: The Ancestral Roof, Hallowed Walls, and Cornerstones Of Order. For her work on these books Ms. MacRae was awarded a Governor General’s Literary Award (1975), a Lieutenant… Read more »

  • author

  • A. B. (Brian) McKillop

    Alexander Brian McKillop is a Chancellor’s Professor at Carleton University and the former Chair of the Department of History (2005-2009). His research interests are focussed on intellectual and cultural history, including religion, higher education, elite and popular culture, cultural production and expression, and historiography, as well as the biography of Pierre Berton. Professor McKillop has… Read more »

  • author

  • The Honourable R. Roy McMurtry

    Roy McMurtry is Chancellor of York University, and the former chief justice of Ontario (1996-2007) and Canadian high commissioner to the United Kingdom (1985-1988). He is counsel at Gowlings. He was first elected to the Ontario Legislature in 1975 after practicing as a trial lawyer for 17 years, and served as attorney-general under Premier William… Read more »

  • author

  • Christopher Moore

    Christopher Moore is a full time writer of Canadian history and  over several decades he has brought Canadian history to adults and children in many media forms. He maintains a substantial ‘sideline’ in legal history as the author of four legal histories. from 1998 to 2011 he wrote a legal history column for the Law… Read more »

  • author

  • Richard W. Pound

    Richard Pound is a partner in the Montréal office of Stikeman Elliott and member of the firm’s Tax Group. His main areas of practice include tax litigation and negotiations with tax authorities on behalf of clients, in addition to general tax advisory work and commercial arbitration. He is a member of the Quebec and Ontario… Read more »

  • author

  • David Vanek

    David Vanek served as a Provincial Court judge from 1968 until 1989 when he retired. He was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1939, just as World War II was breaking out in Europe. During the war Vanek served in the Canadian Intelligence Corps and Field Security in England from 1943 to 1945. Upon… Read more »