Directors & Officers


  • Professor Constance Backhouse, University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law
  • Professor Heidi Bohaker, University of Toronto, Department of History
  • Brendan Brammell, Chernos Flaherty Svonkin LLP
  • Bevan Brooksbank, Borden Ladner Gervais
  • Shantona Chaudhury, Pape Chaudhury LLP
  • Paul Davis, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein
  • Doug Downey, ex officio, Attorney General for Ontario
  • Timothy Hill, ¬†Assistant Crown Attorney
  • Jacqueline Horvat, ex officio, Treasurer, The Law Society of Ontario
  • Ian Hull, Hull & Hull
  • The Hon. Mahmud Jamal
  • Waleed Malik, Ministry of the Attorney General for Ontario
  • Rachel McMillan, Gowling WLG
  • Dana Peebles, McCarthy Tetrault
  • Linda Plumpton, Torys LLP
  • David Rankin, Osler, Hoskins and Harcourt LLP
  • The Hon. Paul Schabas
  • The Hon. Robert Sharpe, President
  • Jon Silver, Torys LLP
  • Linda Silver Dranoff, Dranoff and Huddart
  • Alexander Smith, Henein Hutchison, LLP
  • The Hon. Lorne Sossin
  • The Hon. Michael Tulloch, Chief Justice of Ontario
  • John Wilkinson, WeirFoulds

Honorary Directors

  • Tom Bastedo
  • The Hon. Colin McKinnon


  • President, The Hon. Robert Sharpe
  • Editor-in-Chief, Professor Jim Phillips, M.A., Ph.D., LL.B.
  • Associate Editor, Professor Philip Girard, B.A., LL.B., LL.M., Ph.D., F.R.S.C.
  • Treasurer-Ian Hull, Hull & Hull LLP
  • Director of Oral History Programme, Professor Patricia McMahon, B.A., Ph.D (Hist), LL.B, LL.M, S.J.D.
  • Administrator, Amanda Campbell
  • Counsel, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Robert J. Sharpe

President of the Osgoode Society

Read More

The Hon R. Roy McMurtry

"I shall always be gratified that I had the opportunity to create the Osgoode Society in 1979 when I was the Attorney-General for Ontario. I had long been concerned about the lack of recorded legal history in Canada and the fact that most of it was simply being lost in the mists of time. I am enormously proud of what has been accomplished by our distinguished authors and editors in chiefs, the late Peter Oliver and Professor Jim Phillips. I am very pleased to be able to continue to be associated with the Osgoode Society."
- The Hon R. Roy McMurtry

Read More

The Hon Michael Tulloch

I have been a member of the Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History since my second year at Osgoode Hall Law School...Since then, I have been enriched by this organization and its excellent and diverse legal historical publications. Overall, I find the Osgoode Society to be one of the most consistently relevant organiations to the Canadian Legal Profession - The Hon. Michael Tulloch, Chief Justice of Ontario, Director of the Osgoode Society

R. Roy McMurtry, Marilyn MacFarlane and Jim Phillips

At the Osgoode Society's 30'th Anniversary Celebration.