Adam Dodek

Adam Dodek is a Full Professor and the former dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Ottawa (Common Law Section). He researches and teaches in the areas of Public Law, Constitutional Law, the Legal Profession and Legal Ethics.
Professor Dodek is the author of more than 50 academic articles and book chapters including the Osgoode Society 2024 Member book Heenan Blaikie:  The Making and Unmaking of a Great Canadian Law Firm. He has authored or co-edited ten books in his areas of research interest: public law, the legal profession, the judiciary and legal ethics.  His research can be found here.
His book The Canadian Constitution  (Dundurn) was named by The Hill Times as one of the Best 100 Books in Politics, Public Policy and History of 2013 and is now in its third edition A French version of the book was published as La Constitution Canadienne (Dundurn, 2019) with Yan Campagnolo. Professor Dodek’s Solicitor-Client Privilege (2014) won the Walter Owen Book Prize in 2015.  Professor Dodek has received several honours including the Canadian Association of Law Teachers Prize for Academic Excellence (2018); the Mundell Medal for Excellence in Legal Writing (2017), the Walter Owen Book Prize (2015), and the Law Society Medal by the Law Society of Upper Canada (2015). In 2014, Canadian Lawyer named Dodek as one of Canada’s Most Influential Lawyers and in 2012 Professor Dodek was awarded the  Capital Educators Award  as one of the top teachers in Ottawa.
A full biography can be found here .

Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History Books

Heenan Blaikie:  The Making and Unmaking of a Great Canadian Law Firm

Other Legal History Publications

The Charter Debates:  The Special Joint Committee on the Constitution,1980-81 and the Making of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (Uof T Press, 2018).
In Search of the Ethical Lawyer: Stories from the Canadian Legal Profession (UBC Press, 2016).
The Sacred Fire: The Legacy of Chief Justice Antonio Lamer / Le feu sacré :l’héritage d’Antonio Lamer, juge en chef du Canada (with Daniel Jutras) (Lexis Nexis, 2009).